Usuthu move up despite Chiefs draw

Sfiso Hlanti of Kaizer Chiefs challenged by George Maluleka of Amazulu during the DStv Premiership 2022/23 match between Kaizer Chiefs and AmaZulu at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg on the 03 September 2022 Β©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

AmaZulu FC drew 0-0 with Kaizer Chiefs in a DStv Premiership match which was played at the 2010 FIFA World Cup final venue, FNB Stadium on Saturday evening.

Despite the draw, Usuthu climbed up to second place on the league standings and they are scheduled to face Chippa United on September 10 in Durban in their next match.

Chiefs were the better side in the opening exchanges as they looked to cut open the AmaZulu defence with their explosive speed which led to Mbongeni Gumede handling the ball in the box while trying to stop Kgaogelo Sekgota. However, Dillon Solomons placed his effort from the spot-kick wide of the target from the penalty spot much to the dismay of the Amakhosi fans.


Khama Billiat had his shot saved by goalkeeper Veli Mothwa after attacking the Usuthu backline with speed. Usuthu finished the first half the stronger of the two teams with Frank Mhango’s goal-bound shot being blocked by Njabulo Ngcobo, while Zitha Kwinika’s miscued clearance nearly beat keeper Itumeleng Khune at the far post and the score was 0-0 at half-time.

Usuthu looked to take the hosts by surprise after the restart, but Khune produced a decent save to deny Augustine Chidi Kwem at the near-post. The home side responded by putting pressure on AmaZulu with Mothwa pulling off a fabulous save to deny Sifiso Hlanti, before gathering a dangerous cross that had deflected off Abubaker Mobara.

Chiefs introduced their new signing Bonfils Caleb Bimenyimana with 20 minutes left as they pushed for a late winning goal. The Burundian striker nearly got on the end of a looped pass from fellow substitute Keagan Dolly with the ball being snatched away by Mothwa to ensure that the game ended in a 0-0 draw on the night.

Chiefs 0
AmaZulu 0

Chiefs: Khune, Solomons, Nj. Ngcobo, Kwinika, Hlanti, Matlou, Maart, Sithebe (Nkosingiphile Ngcobo 82′), Du Preez (Bimenyimana 70′), Sekgota, Billiat (Dolly 82′).

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Hanamub, Gumede, Mobara, Buchanan, Makhauka, Maluleka (Kunene 73′), Kwem, Mhango (Zuma 87′), Ntuli (Majoro 64′).