Usuthu lose to SuperSport in Pretoria

Augustine Mulenga of AmaZulu challenged by Sifiso Ngobeni of Supersport United during the DStv Premiership 2021/22 match between Supersport United and AmaZulu at Lucas Moripe Stadium, Pretoria on 05 March 2022 Β©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

AmaZulu FC were beaten 2-0 by SuperSport United in the DStv Premiership match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium in Pretoria on Saturday evening.

As a result, Usuthu moved down to eighth place on the league standings and they will now take on Algeria’s ES Setif in the CAF Champions League game on March 12.

Usuthu started the match brightly and they threatened first through Tapelo Xoki, whose effort from a free-kick was brilliantly saved by goalkeeper Ronwen Williams.

Matsatsantsa grew gradually into the game and they managed to test Veli Mothwa from a set-piece, and the AmaZulu shot-stopper made a fine save to deny Jamie Webber.

However, Mothwa was beaten in the 33rd minute after he failed to hold on to the ball in the visitors’ box and Jesse Donn was there to hit the back of the net. SuperSport were leading 1-0 at half-time.

Usuthu pressed Matsatsantsa after the restart and they were awarded a penalty after Makhehlene Makhaula was fouled in the box. However, Bonginkosi Ntuli was denied by Williams from the spot-kick.

SuperSport then went 2-0 up in the 54th minute when Iqraam Rayners found the back of the net following a mistake by Mothwa, who came off his box to try and deal with a threat but he missed the ball.

AmaZulu had to push for at least two late goals, but Williams was in great form between the sticks for Matsatsantsa as he pulled off a fine save to deny the visitors’ talisman Luvuyo Memela.

Usuthu were reduced to 10 players in stoppage time when Xoki was sent off after receiving his second yellow card of the game and ultimately, SuperSport ran out 2-0 winners over AmaZulu on the night.

SuperSport (1) 2 (Donn 33′, Rayners 54′)
AmaZulu (0) 0

SuperSport: Williams, Phillips (Fleurs 87′), Johannes, Ditlhokwe, Ngobeni, Ngoma (Bhasera 70′), Webber, Donn, Rayners, Gabuza, Lungu (Mbule 84′).

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede, Malepe, Khumalo, Xoki, Makhaula, Mlambo (Buchanan 46′), Ceesay (Memela 46′), Mulenga (Moremi 81), Ntuli (Mthembu 67′), De Jong (Majok 68′).