Royal AM overcome Usuthu

Motebang Sera of Royal AM challenged by Tercious Malepe of AmaZulu FC during DStv Premiership 2022/23 match between Royal AM and AmaZulu on the 08 January 2022 at Chatsworth Stadium Β© Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

AmaZulu FC were beaten 2-0 by Royal AM in a DStv Premiership encounter which took place at the Chatsworth Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The defeat in the KwaZulu-Natal Derby clash left Usuthu on the 11th spot on the league standings and they will be targeting nothing but a victory when they lock horns with Kaizer Chiefs in Durban on Friday.

Thwihli Thwahla were the better side in the opening stages with a lot of crosses being played into the Usuthu box. Ricardo Nascimento forced goalkeeper Veli Mothwa into a save with a header in the fifth minute.

The decision to play crosses into the AmaZulu box paid off in the 12th minute. Elias Pelembe delivered a quality cross which was headed home by Motebang Sera to hand Royal a well-deserved 1-0 lead.

The hosts pushed for their second goal of the match with Nascimento forcing Mothwa into a fabulous diving save from a free-kick in the 23th minute. Royal were leading 1-0 during the half-time break.

Thabo Qalinge and Lehlohonolo Majoro were introduced by coach Romain Folz prior to the start of the second-half. However, Usuthu were struggling to keep their attempts on target and seriously test keeper Hugo Nyame.

Thwihli Thwahla looked dangerous on the counter-attack and they came very close to doubling their lead in the 67th minute. Sera cut inside from the left and he unleashed a thumping shot which hit the crossbar.

Folz’s counterpart, Abram Nteo introduced Menzi Masuku and Mxolisi Macuphu with eight minutes left. The duo combined to seal Royal’s 2-0 win in the 85th minute as Masuku’s cross was turned home by Macuphu from close range.

Royal (1) 2 (Sera 12′, Macuphu 85′)
AmaZulu (0) 0

Royal: Nyame; Rikhotso, Cele, Nascimento, Matlaba; Kobedi, Mahlasela (Masuku 82′), Pelembe (Dlamini 72′), Ndlovu (Thikazi 72′), Sera (Macuphu 82′), Potsane (Mogaila 72′).

AmaZulu: Mothwa; Sikhakhane, Gumede, Mphahlele, Hanamub; Makhaula, Malepe (Zuma 75′), Bwalya (Qalinge 46′), Ekstein, Mhango (Majoro 46′), Dion (Ntuli 75′).