Mothwa masterclass gets Usuthu in Nedbank Cup quarter-final

Veli Mothwa of AmaZulu FC during the 2024 Nedbank Cup match between Sekhukhune United and AmaZulu at the Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane on the 14 March 2024 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

AmaZulu goalkeeper Veli Mothwa produced a Man of the Match performance in the Nedbank Cup as the team defeated Sekhukhune United 2-0 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Thursday evening.

The win for Usuthu sees the team go into the quarter-finals of the cup competition for the first time in 11 years. The performance from the team was a defensive masterclass, whilst also showing a clinical attitude in front of goal.

The first goal for Usuthu came in the first half, as an error at the back from Sekhukhune gave the team a chance to capitalise and get the ball into the back of the net. The goal was credited to Junior Dion, despite protests from the home team to the referee.

AmaZulu went into the break after the first half a goal ahead, and were solid defensively as Babina Noko gave it everything they had in terms of attacking. The second half would follow a similar trend, as the team remained solid at the back and Mothwa made a number of crucial saves to retain the lead.

The second goal for Usuthu came in the 62nd minute through Victor Letsoalo, who scored against his former team following another defensive error from Sekhukhune, leading to their goalkeeper Renaldo Leaner losing possession after making a bad touch from receiving a back pass.

The hosts didn’t give up until the end, but could not get past Mothwa and the AmaZulu defence as the KZN team walked away with the win and progressed to the next round of the Nedbank Cup.

Sekhukhune (0)

AmaZulu 2 (1) (Dion 26’, Letsoalo 62’)

Sekhuhune: R. Leaner, K. Mkhabela (M. Sarpong 78’), D. Cardoso, T. Yamba, A. Tlwani, S. Mkhize (M. Mokhele 78’), K. Mokotjo, E. Mokwana (J. Webber 64’), L. Mntambo (T. Masiya 64’), V. Mncube, C. Ohizu

AmaZulu: V. Mothwa, R. Hanamub, T. Fielies, R. Mphahlele, M. Gumede, T. Sikhakhane, E. Brooks, C. Ngema, H. Ekstein, J. Dion (V. Letsoalo 46’), A. Mulenga (M. Mbanjwa 61’)