Sekhukhune United vs AmaZulu

2 - 0
Full Time


AmaZulu lose to Sekhukhune at Emirates Airline Park

AmaZulu suffered a 2-0 loss to Sekhukhune United in a 2021/22 DStv Premiership match at Emirates Airline Park on Wednesday.

Victory moved Babina Noko up to fourth spot on the league standings while Usuthu remain in eighth place. The two goals came within the space of three second half minutes via the boot of Willard Katsande and Chibuike Ohizu respectively.

The hosts started the game on the front foot and hit the target in the 12th minute through a powerful low drive from Pogiso Mahlangu, who forced AmaZulu shot-stopper Veli Mothwa into a good save.

Mothwa was at it again the the 26th minute, this time to deny Brandon Parusnath who had burst through on goal before firing a shot on target from the edge of the area.

AmaZulu registered a chance of their own four minutes before the break when the ball fell favourably for Augustine Mulenga inside the area, but the combination of Nyiko Mobbie and Toaster Nsabata denied the visitors the opener.

Sekhukhune hit the front in the 48th minute. Mahlangu made a darting run to the near post to meet Tlotlo Leepile’s corner-kick and Katsande was well positioned at the far post to guide the ball into an empty net for his first at the club.

Ohizu doubled the hosts’ lead three minutes later with his fifth goal of the campaign. Tshediso Patjie skipped past his marker before teeing up the Nigerian who finished with aplomb.

Sekhukhune were reduced to 10-men in the 69th minute following a second bookable offence from Mahlangu, who was forced to take an early shower. But Usuthu weren’t able to make the advantage count and ultimately fell to a second defeat of the season.

Sekhukhune United (0) 2 (Katsande 48′ Ohizu 51′)
AmaZulu (0) 0

Sekhukhune United: Nsabata; Jampies, Motsepe, Gyimah, Mobbie, Katsande (Matona 64′), Leepile (Mashumba 71′), Parusnath (Mncube 46′), Mahlangu, Patjie (Sithole 82′), Ohizu (De Jongh 64′).

AmaZulu: Mothwa; Masilela (Moremi 60′), Xoki, Gumede (Khumalo 60′), Sikhakhane (Mthembu 76′), Buchanan, Mlambo (Ekstein 75′), Malepe, Memela, Mulenga (Ntuli 46′), Majoro.