AmaZulu vs Chippa United

2 - 2
Full Time


Courageous Usuthu hold Chippa

AmaZulu FC fought back to hold Chippa United to a 2-2 draw in the DStv Premiership match at the Jonsson Kings Park Stadium on Tuesday afternoon.

Therefore, Usuthu remained eighth in the league standings following a match that saw Luvuyo Memela grab a second-half brace to cancel out Bienvenu Eva Nga’s first-half brace.

Usuthu would have been wary of the in-form Bienvenu Eva Nga, who had scored in each of his previous three matches in the league and he did continue his scoring form.

The Cameroonian hitman hit the back of the net to hand Chippa a 1-0 lead in the 22nd minute as he capitalized on a goalkeeping error by Veli Mothwa.

AmaZulu were struggling to contain Eva Nga and the former Bidvest Wits marksman grabbed his brace a minute before the half-hour mark.

The bulky player unleashed a left-footed shot which beat Mothwa at the near post to extend his tally to five goals for this term and the score was 2-0 to Chippa during the half-time break in Durban.

Usuthu dominated the game after the restart following the players’ half-time team talk with coach Benni McCarthy and they were able to create goalscoring opportunities.

Luvuyo Memela and Lehlohonolo Majoro were causing problems for the Chilli Boys defence and they were involved when the hosts pulled one back in the 64th minute.

Majoro’s miscued shot fell for Memela, who headed home from close range beating keeper Ismail Watenga hands down to make it 2-1 and it was his fourth goal of the season.

The former Orlando Pirates winger, who never stopped making dangerous runs, grabbed his brace to make it 2-2 in the 82nd minute when he controlled Majoro’s long pass well, before firing home.

Eva Nga thought he had completed his second hat-trick in the South African top-flight, but his goal was disallowed for offside before he hit the side-netting in the closing stages, and ultimately, the game ended in a 2-2 draw.

AmaZulu (0) 2 (Memela 64′, 82′)
Chippa (2) 2 (Eva Nga 22′, 29′)

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Zulu (Moremi 82′), Khumalo, Gumede, Makhaula, Mlambo (Ntuli 42′), Sithebe, Qalinge (Memela 61′), Majoro, De Jong (Maduna 60′).

Chippa: Watenga, Hanamub, Pietersen, Mthethwa, Mokhele (Sangare 63′), Mkhize, Sekotlong (Seabi 62′), Mdlinzo, Zulu, Lebitso (Mdunyelwa 64′), Eva Nga.