AmaZulu vs Cape Town City FC

2 - 0
Full Time


Mulenga-inspired Usuthu beat CT City

Augustine Mulenga scored twice as AmaZulu FC defeated Cape Town City 2-0 in the DStv Premiership match at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Sunday night.

The victory elevated Usuthu to eighth place on the league standings, while the Citizens slipped down to the ninth spot on the log after being outsmarted by the KwaZulu-Natal giants.

The Citizens started the match brightly with Mduduzi Mdantsane forcing goalkeeper Veli Mothwa into a fine save after some good work by Abdul Ajagun in the 16th minute.

Coach Benni McCarthy then made an early change as he pulled out Philani Zulu and introduced Augustine Mulenga, who made an immediate impact.

The 2017 Zambian Footballer of the Year headed home a delightful cross from fellow former Orlando Pirates star Thabo Qalinge to hand AmaZulu a 1-0 lead seven minutes before the half-hour mark.

Mulenga was hungry for goals on the night and he managed to complete his brace in first-half stoppage time when he scored with a decent finish to hand AmaZulu a 2-0 lead heading into the half-time break.

City came back rejuvenated following their half-time team talk with coach Eric Tinkler and they had an opportunity to pull one back through their goalscoring midfielder Mdantsane.

However, Mothwa was alert as he pulled off a great save to deny the former Baroka FC captain and McCarthy decided to make changes as he introduced Xola Mlambo and Siphelele Mthembu.

The momentum was with the Citizens in the closing proceedings and Shane Roberts had a chance to score with seven minutes left, but his effort was blocked on the goal-line.

The hosts then stood firm at the back in the remaining minutes of the game and ultimately, AmaZulu ran out 2-0 winners over the 2021 MTN8 runners-up.

AmaZulu (2) 2 (Mulenga 23′, 45′)
CT City (0) 0

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede, Xoki, Malepe, Mgwazela, Zulu (Mulenga 17′), Qalinge (Sikhakhane 86′), Makhaula, Ekstein (Mlambo 65′), Sithebe, Majoro (Mthembu 65′).

City: Marques Mkhize (Martin 13′), Fielies, Edmilson, Cupido (Roberts 46′), Mashego, Mokeke, Nodada (Makola 77′), Mdantsane (Morris 68′), Ajagun (Mayo 77′), Ralani.