Dominant Usuthu hammer Chiefs

Dumisani Zuma of AmaZulu celebrates goal with teammates during the DStv Premiership 2022/23 match between AmaZulu and Kaizer Chiefs at the Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban on the 13 January 2023 Β©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

AmaZulu FC secured an impressive 4-0 win over Kaizer Chiefs in a DStv Premiership match at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Friday evening.

As a result, Usuthu moved up to the fifth spot on the league standings – after defeating Chiefs at home for the first time since 1992. The KwaZulu-Natal giants will now face off with Marumo Gallants at home on January 21.

Usuthu were fearless in the opening exchanges as they counter-attacked in numbers and they broke the deadlock 14 minutes into the game when George Maluleka’s corner-kick was headed home by his former Dumisani Zuma to make it 1-0 to the hosts.

Chiefs responded by applying pressure on the hosts’ defence and they were awarded a penalty a minute later after Ashley du Preez was fouled in the box. However, keeper Veli Mothwa denied Bonfils Caleb-Bimenyimana from the spot-kick.

The Soweto giants were vulnerable when defending corner-kicks and they were punished by Ramahlwe Mphahlele who headed home Maluleka’s corner-kick to make it 2-0 to AmaZulu seven minutes before half-time.

The goal rattled Chiefs as Khune’s poor clearance was blocked by Sere Junior Dion who then fired into an empty net to hand AmaZulu a 3-0 lead on the stroke of half-time and AmaZulu were deservedly leading during the half-time break.

Coach Arthur Zwane introduced Kgaogelo Sekgota eight minutes into the second-half as the Glamour Boys looked to pull one back. The Bafana winger had a chance to score in the 76th minute, but he was brilliantly denied by his national team teammate Mothwa.

Chiefs were pushing forward in numbers and they were left vulnerable at the back and they were punished by Bonginkosi Ntuli. The bulky forward was sent through on goal and he rounded on-rushing Khune before scoring in stoppage time to seal AmaZulu’s 4-0 win.

AmaZulu (3) 4 (Zuma 14′, Mphahlele 38′, Dion 45′, Ntuli 90’+2)
Chiefs (0) 0

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Hanamub, Mphahlele, Mobara, Makhaula (Malepe 43′), Ekstein, Maluleka (Bwalya 65′), Qalinge (Ndlovu 56′), Dion (Ntuli 65′), Zuma (Maduna 64′).

Chiefs: Khune, Frosler, Dove, Kwinika, Mashiane (Solomons 57′), Zwane, Maart, Nk. Ngcobo, Shabalala (Sekgota 53′), Du Preez, Bimenyimana (Duba 74′).