AmaZulu downs Sekhukhune United

Wayde Jooste of AmaZulu challenged by Elias Mokwana of Sekhukhune United during the DStv Premiership 2023/24 match between AmaZulu and Sekhukhune United at the King Zwelithini Stadium, Umlazi on the 13 December 2023 Β©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

AmaZulu successfully grabbed three points against Sekhukhune United in the DStv Premiership on Wednesday evening at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Durban. AmaZulu were looking to put an end to a two-match losing streak in the league and were successful in their efforts.

Usuthu walked away with a 1-0 win against the Limpopo side, giving an impressive display of football. The match was one of a high tempo, with the home side taking advantage of their attacking football.

Pablo Franco’s charges showed determination throughout the match and had two impressive attempts on goal in the first 20 minutes. An injury to Sekhukhune’s Renaldo Leaner caused a delay in the match but when play resumed, AmaZulu continued their charge for the goal. Shortly afterwards, in the 24th minute, Sede Dion found the back of the open net leaving the goalkeeper stranded.

At the halfway mark, Sekhukhune’s efforts continued when they won possession and looked to break on the counter attack. Abbubaker Mobara dealt with the threat and half time came for both teams to take a break to regroup after a challenging 45 minutes of football.

As the second half went underway, Abbubaker Mobara continued to make key interceptions to stop Usuthu’s opponents from gaining an advantage. The home team had a tight defence and it paid off as the match ended with a 1-0 scoreline, with AmaZulu grabbing maximum points.

The win sees AmaZulu move up to 10th position on the DStv Premiership log, displacing the evening’s opponents Sekhukhune United who are in the 11th spot.

AmaZulu: (1) 1 (Dion 24′)

Mzimela, Jooste (Gumede 86′), Hanamub, Fielies, Mobara, Mphahlele, Motshwari, Ngema (Brooks 72′), Dion (Letsoalo 79′), Moremi (Ndlovu 86′), Ekstein (Mbanjwa 79′)

Sekhukhune United: (0) 0

Leaner, Baartman, Cardoso, Mkhabela, Ntiya-Ntiya (Mabotja 46′), Webber (Mahlangu 69′), Mkhize, Mokwana, Maloisane (Masiya 34′), Mncube (Mokotjo 46′), Morris (Ohizu 59′)