AmaZulu book MTN8 final spot after Chiefs draw

Yusuf Maart of Kaizer Chiefs challenged by Siyethemba Sithebe of AmaZulu during the 2022 MTN8 semifinals 2nd leg match between AmaZulu and Kaizer Chiefs at Moses Mabhida Stadium, in Durban on the 23 October 2022 Β©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

AmaZulu FC drew 0-0 with Kaizer Chiefs in an MTN8 semi-final second-leg encounter which was played at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

As a result, Usuthu advanced to the final where they will face Orlando Pirates on November 5. The KwaZulu-Natal giants won their semi-final tie against Chiefs on the away goals rule having held Amakhosi to a 1-1 draw in the first-leg encounter in Johannesburg three weeks ago.


Amakhosi did most of the attacking in the opening exchanges as they looked to grab an early goal, but they looked vulnerable at the back when Usuthu launched their quick counterattacks.

Sphesihle Maduna’s low shot narrowly missed in the 16th minute from inside the visitors’ box and eight minutes later, George Maluleka’s attempt from range was saved by Chiefs goalkeeper Brandon Petersen who was well-positioned to make a save.

AmaZulu continued to threaten on the counterattack with Maluleka playing a through pass for Augustine Chidi Kwem whose chipped effort flew over Petersen’s goal-posts in the 41st minute and the score was 0-0 at half-time.

Chiefs were the better side after restart, but they suffered a major blow when their top scorer in the current term, Bonfils-Caleb Bimenyimana went down injured and he was replaced by Khama Billiat in the 62 minute.

AmaZulu stood firm at the back with Amakhosi failing to penetrate their solid defence. Amakhosi’s long range shots missed the target without seriously testing keeper Veli Mothwa, and ultimately, the match ended in a 0-0 draw.

AmaZulu 0
Chiefs 0

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Sikhakhane, Hanamub, Mphahlele, Mobara, Makhaula, Bwalya (Buchanan 90’+3), Maluleka, Kwem (Gumede 87′), Maduna (Brooks 62′), Mhango (Majoro 62′).

Chiefs: Petersen, Frosler (Solomons 85′), Dove, Kwinika, Hlanti, Blom (Matlou 85′), Maart, Sekgota, Dolly, Du Preez (Nkosi Ngcobo 71′), Bimenyimana (Billiat 62′).