A look back at AmaZulu’s recent Nedbank Cup record

Mandla Ncikazi assistant coach of Orlando Pirates and Benni McCarthy coach of AmaZulu during the 2021 Nedbank Cup Launch on the 01 February 2022 at The Galleria in Johannesburg / Pic Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

AmaZulu will be in Nedbank Cup action this coming weekend, as they tackle Orlando Pirates in Soweto on the afternoon of Sunday 6 February 2022 in a round of 32 tie.

Usuthu have never won the National Cup, though the Durban club has been runners-up no less than six times (1972, 1973, 1974, 1987, 1990 and 2010).

That most recent silver medal arrived at the end of the 2009-10 season when AmaZulu, then managed by former Bafana Bafana captain Neil Tovey, were beaten by Bidvest Wits in the final.

It proved a high watermark for the club in the Nedbank Cup era (which began in 2008 with their title sponsorship).

In 2008 and 2012, AmaZulu reached the semifinals, while in 2011 they got as far as the quarters. Since those heady days, the Nedbank Cup has not been a happy hunting ground for Usuthu, with the club exiting in either the round of 32 or round of 16 from 2013 onwards.

Last season provided hope that the drought would be broken when Benni McCarthy’s men ousted local rivals Golden Arrows on penalties in the round of 32, but in their next Nedbank Cup clash they were narrowly beaten 1-0 by Black Leopards.

This time around they face the challenge of Orlando Pirates – the very team that claimed a somewhat fortunate 2-1 win when the clubs had a league clash on December 23 before going into recess.

Usuthu and the Buccaneers last met in a cup clash in the 2018 Telkom Knockout quarterfinals, with the Soweto side winning 3-1 in Durban. McCarthy and his charges will be determined to return the favour come Sunday in Soweto.

AmaZulu’s Nedbank Cup record (since title sponsorship began in 2008)

2008 – Semifinals, beaten 1-0 by Mamelodi Sundowns
2009 – Round of 32, beaten 1-0 by Black Leopards
2010 – Final, beaten 3-0 by Bidvest Wits
2011 – Quarterfinals, beaten 3-2 by Cape Town City
2012 – Semifinals, beaten 3-0 by SuperSport United
2013 – Round of 32, beaten 2-1 by Temba Royals
2014 – Round of 16, beaten 4-1 by Bidvest Wits
2015 – Round of 32, beaten 2-1 by Golden Arrows
2016 – Round of 32, beaten on penalties (after 1-1 draw) by Jomo Cosmos
2017 – Round of 32, beaten 3-2 by Platinum Stars
2018 – Round of 16, beaten 3-2 by Ubuntu Cape Town
2019 – Round of 32, beaten on penalties (after 1-1 draw) by Highlands Park
2020 – Round of 32, beaten 4-1 by Bloemfontein Celtic
2021 – Round of 16, beaten 1-0 by Black Leopards